Texas Horse Racing Hall of Fame

Posted by Press Release on 02/11/2020

COLLEGE STATION, TX---FEBRUARY 11, 2020—The selection committee for the Texas Horse Racing Hall of Fame voted in a meeting last week to induct five individuals during their annual Gala at Retama Park next summer. 

Among new inductees is long-time Quarter Horse trainer Mike Robbins and former AQHA President Dr. Jim Heird. 

A Texas native, Robbins trained such greats as world champion and all-time leading sire First Down Dash, world champion Special Leader, world champion Sgt Pepper Feature and world champion Dashs Dream. 

Dr. Heird is the Director of the Texas A&M Equine Initiative. He holds the Dr. Glenn Blodgett Equine Chair at Texas A&M. and served on the executive committee of the National Western Stock Show and is an ex-officio director of the Houston Livestock Show & Rodeo. He was inducted in to the Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame in 2017. 

Other inductees include: 

  • Leading Thoroughbred owner-breeder Kenny Trout of Dallas, owner of WinStar Farm, one of the industry's leading farms based in Versailles, Kentucky; 
  • Texas native Hal Wiggins, former trainer of the champion Rachel Alexandra, currently a steward at Oaklawn Park;
  • Tommy Azopadri, a longtime racing official and grandson of Hall of Fame member Tommy Oliphant. 

The induction ceremony will be held August 7 at Retama Park during the Texas Horse Racing Hall of Fame Gala. 

For additional information on the Texas Horse Racing Hall of Fame their website at txhof.com.

Subscribe to receive news and updates.