Jesus Ayala Named Rising Star Jockey Award Winner

Posted by Greg Thompson, StallioneSearch on 01/31/2020

DALLAS, TX—JANUARY 31, 2020—The multiple Grade 1 winning California-based jockey, Jesus Ayala, has been named the first recipient of the StallioneSearch Rising Star Jockey Award for 2019.

Ayala had a standout year in 2019, finishing as the ninth leading Quarter Horse jockey in the nation with earnings of $1,511,006. Topping the list of highlights from his 2019 riding season, which saw him reach the winners circle 73 times, was Grade 1 wins in both the Millie Vessels Memorial Handicap(G1) and the Brad Mckinzie Winter Championship Stakes(G1) at Los Alamitos Race Course. 

In 2019, the 25-year old jockey was also victorious in the Southern California Derby(G2) aboard Mister Appolitocal, the Robert Adair Kindergarten Futurity(G1) aboard Chayito Cartel, as well as another win aboard Mister Appolitical in the PCQHRA Breeders' Derby(G2) at Los Alamitos Race Course.

Along with management of, a panel made up of the retired 10-time AQHA Racing World Champion Jockey G.R. Carter, Jr., the newly retired 3-time AQHA Racing World Champion Jockey Cody Jensen, and the 2015 AQHA Racing World Champion Jockey Ricky Ramirez analyzed and voted on the candidates for the inaugural award presentation of the Rising Star Jockey Award. 

Jesus Ayala was a unanimous choice of the panel as the 2019 recipient, and he was also a nominee for the 2019 AQHA World Champion jockey award. 

In an effort to promote the growth in the sport of Quarter Horse racing amongst the younger generation of horsemen and horsewomen, StallioneSearch announced the creation of the StallioneSearch Rising Star Award's on Christmas Day of 2019 to reward excellence in achievement on the racetrack from young, up and coming trainers, jockeys, and first-crop sires.


* * * * * * * *

In accordance with the awards process of the AQHA, only trainers in good standing with the AQHA, and who had not received a medication violation during the year of racing are eligible for the award. The trainer and jockey award winners will be under the age of 30 and will be within the first five-years of their career.

Categories: The News

Subscribe to receive news and updates.