Arizona Dept. Of Gaming/Racing Division Enforcing New Penalty Guideline

Posted by Press Release on 09/12/2019

TUCSON, AZ—SEPTEMBER 11,2019—In a memo to horsemen released September 4, the Arizona Department of Gaming/Racing Division Board of Stewards announced it shall begin enforcing the Uniform Classification Guideline for Foreign Substances and Recommended Penalties Model Rule (ARCI) recently adopted for Clenbuterol and Albuterol in Quarter Horses (changed from a penalty B to a penalty A). 

This new penalty guideline will take effect at all Arizona tracks in Quarter Horses beginning October 12, 2019. 

The penalty for a Clenbuterol and Albuterol in Quarter horses will be the following: 

  • 1st offense – Minimum of 6 months suspension with a recommendation to the director of the Arizona Department of Gaming/Racing Division that the penalty be increased to 1 year absent mitigating circumstances, and; minimum fine $2,500 with a recommendation to the director of the Arizona Department of Gaming/Racing Division that the fine be increased to $10,000 absent mitigating circumstances, and; disqualification and loss of purse, horse shall be placed on the Veterinarian list for 180 days and must pass a commission-approved examination before becoming eligible. 

     

  • 2nd lifetime offense- Minimum of 6 months suspension with a recommendation to the director of the Arizona Department of Gaming/Racing Division that the penalty be increased to 3 years absent mitigating circumstances, and; minimum fine $2,500 with a recommendation to the director of the Arizona Department of Gaming/Racing Division that the fine be increased to $25,000 absent mitigating circumstances, and; disqualification and loss of purse, horse shall be placed on the Veterinarian list for 180 days and must pass a commission-approved examination before becoming eligible. 

     

  • 3rd lifetime offense- Minimum of 6 months suspension with a recommendation to the director of the Arizona Department of Gaming/Racing Division that the penalty be increased to 5 years absent mitigating circumstances, and; minimum fine $2,500 with a recommendation to the director of the Arizona Department of Gaming/Racing Division that the fine be increased to $50,000 absent mitigating circumstances, and; disqualification and loss of purse, horse shall be placed on the Veterinarian list for 180 days and must pass a commission-approved examination before becoming eligible. 

 

Board of Stewards, Arizona Department of Gaming

Subscribe to receive news and updates.